Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a novice when it comes to changing cassettes.. but I noticed when I removed my cassette (Shimano) from my old wheel set (Xero) and wanted to put in on 2005 Mavic SSL.. the free wheel on the Mavic is too big for the Cassette to slide in... any help????!? The new wheels said it is set up for Shimano..

Thanks

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,491 Posts
talentous said:
I'm a novice when it comes to changing cassettes.. but I noticed when I removed my cassette (Shimano) from my old wheel set (Xero) and wanted to put in on 2005 Mavic SSL.. the free wheel on the Mavic is too big for the Cassette to slide in... any help????!? The new wheels said it is set up for Shimano..

Thanks
Assuming: You took a Shimy-9 cassette off of a Xero wheel and are trying to install it on a 2005 Mavic Ksyrium SSL and the hole in the cassette is too small to fit on the Mavic freehub body ('freewheel' is the old type of pre-cassette that screws on to the hub).

My first guess would be that it is a Campy freehub.

Does the new wheel have a 7800 (DA) hub (not a Ksyrium)? Then it could be for Shimy-10 only cassttes.

TF

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
TurboTurtle said:
Assuming: You took a Shimy-9 cassette off of a Xero wheel and are trying to install it on a 2005 Mavic Ksyrium SSL and the hole in the cassette is too small to fit on the Mavic freehub body ('freewheel' is the old type of pre-cassette that screws on to the hub).

My first guess would be that it is a Campy freehub.

Does the new wheel have a 7800 (DA) hub (not a Ksyrium)? Then it could be for Shimy-10 only cassttes.

TF
It's actually a shimy 10 speed cassette... and trying to put onto a 2005 K SSL.....urrgh. I guess I have to go into the bike shop for this one...

Appreciate your help TT

·
Registered
499 Posts