Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,
New to this forum, but been on MTBR a long time... I am just getting into road riding to help train for mtb, I have a brand new set of Open Pro CD rims that I was thinking of lacing to Dura Ace hubs and was wondering if these built up well would be better/lighter than Ksyrium SL's?
Pros and Cons of each would be great.:thumbsup:

·
A wheelist
11,322 Posts
sp3000 said:
Hi everybody,
New to this forum, but been on MTBR a long time... I am just getting into road riding to help train for mtb, I have a brand new set of Open Pro CD rims that I was thinking of lacing to Dura Ace hubs and was wondering if these built up well would be better/lighter than Ksyrium SL's?
Pros and Cons of each would be great.:thumbsup:
Hi sp. Welcome to this fine forum. I have the OP/DA wheels and with 32/32 DT Comp spokes they weigh 1762 grams.

The K SL are listed at 1485 grams but Mavic is well known for being a bit generous with its weights. Maybe someone will come along with their true weight, hopefully having weighed them themselves.

Many of us are not fans of Mavic wheels in particular and pre-built wheels in general as they tend to be heavy for their cost, hard to get parts for (spokes, rims) and those parts are an outrageous price compared to normal spokes and OP rims. Their hubs are aren't known for quality either. DA's are.

The Mavic wheels are low spoke wheels (compared to 32/32 OP/DA) and as those few spokes still have to do the same job as more spokes, go out of true much greater if you break a spoke.

You said you wanted the OP/DA as training wheels. I can't think of too many better combos.