Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm a 45 year old road cyclist and I've been riding on and off for 25 years.
I'm getting more serious with my road riding, meaning I'd like to see what my potential is on the road by doing more specific training to increase speed and power. I've mostly done centuries in the past and plodded along at around 17mph.
Here are my questions:
1. My Polar HR monitor read my max HR at 196. I did the Carmichael field test of two 8-minute intervals and recorded my highest HR and average for each effort. This number defies the typical calculation of 220-Age, which would be 175 bpm for me. How should I interpret this? Not sure if it's good or bad?

2. Is VO2 max and max HR the same thing? As I understand it now my average HR for my field test was 188 bpm. Should I consider that my VO2 max or my max HR? Again, this number is higher than what they typical age number would probably be.

Thanks in advance for your response to these questions.

·
Registered
52 Posts
"220-age" often does not fit people, especially after 40. "205-1/2age" often fits better.

However these formulas are just generalizations. Your maxHR is what it is when you are at maximum effort. I'm 43 and my max is 186.

People who train sometimes also do not lower their maxHR with age. A running partner has had the same maxHR for 15 years, hasn't lowered from 190bps from age 40 to 55. But he is a 3 hour marathoner :) and has stayed in that fitness level for that time.

Good/Bad - if you have no underlying condition, reaching maxHR is not dangerous, just don't stay there for long, because there is no point.

In interval training, my running coach tells us not to go over 90-92% of maxHR, since after that you get no benefits, but run the danger of overexertion, meaning longer recovery and not being fit for the next training session later in the week.

·
Registered
52 Posts