Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What electronic device (if any) do you use to measure your miles?

I've got a 16 year old (I believe I got it when I got my Mamba back in 2000) CatEye Enduro 2 that still works like a charm.

A couple days ago I remembered I have a Garmin 305 'watch' I used for running before I had microfracture knee surgery. Pulled it out, charged it up, and was happy to find it had a Cycling mode on it. Attached it to my bike tonight to compare the accuracy of my Enduro 2 to the Garmin 305.

It was very very close. At the end of my first true ride in probably 7 years I rode for 36:04. The Garmin had me going 5.28 miles and the 16 year old Enduro 2 had me at 5.37 miles. I'm not sure which one was truly correct but I was pretty impressed by how close the two were. Especially with the Enduro being 16 years old...and me being the one who set it up on my bike 16 years ago. When it came to comparing mph both were pretty close most of the time (see more below).

Which one did I prefer? I'd have to give the edge to the Garmin. I will say the Enduro 2 was much easier to see in low light conditions and the change in my speed changed more quickly with it as well. However, when I got back home and was able to load all the data the Garmin 305 recorded I knew it was the one I would go with.

It tracked my entire route (and could play it back to me if I wanted it to), had total miles, total time, average speed, fastest speed, elevation changes, highest/lowest elevation, weather condition, allowed me to type in notes about my ride, and if I would have chose to do so I could have ridden the course several times keeping all the same information for each lap.

I don't really want to remove the CatEye Enduro 2 because of nostalgic reasons, but I'm thinking it may be gone by the weekend :D

TripleB

·
Off the back
1,850 Posts