Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after a loooong time looking for a Merckx Corsa or Corsa Extra in my size, I finally took the plunge on a used frame that I've decided to repaint & refresh in the Molteni colors. She went to my painter a few weeks ago, and I'm anticipating the build.

I've accumulated most of the Super/Nuovo Record Components I need. I have a choice of Campy Victory Strada tubular rims, Ambrosio Synthesis, or Mavic Campion del Mundo Oro rims. I'm still debating on getting pedals with clips/toestraps, or just using my usual Campy pro-fit pedals I usually prefer.

I'm like the kid at the candy store. Any constructive comments & criticisms always welcome. I'm not looking for the ultimate in a period -correct, but enough to remind me of the friction shifting experience I started with in the 1980s when I started riding.

·
Registered
158 Posts
I recognize that color. I built one for a friend once. Of course I test rode it first, you know, to make sure it was safe.

It was a long test ride.

It's a lovely bike. Enjoy.

·
Registered
8,784 Posts
Try to find a set of Simplex shift levers.
They shift a lot smoother than the Campagnolo's and they're period correct. I tried to load a photo but the file must be too large or something.

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Dave Hickey said:
very nice...... who's doing the repaint?
Jeffrey Bock is a framebuilder/painter who lives about 90 miles from my home. My friend & LBS owner has known him over 20 yrs. He generally builds lugged steel touring & racing bikes. Not sure how many he builds in a year.

velodog said:
Try to find a set of Simplex shift levers.
They shift a lot smoother than the Campagnolo's and they're period correct. I tried to load a photo but the file must be too large or something.