Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
I have been using them for about two months. For the past four years I used Pro Race 2. I switched to Pro Race 3 this year but the tires had to be tossed after a few hundred miles because of too many cuts and the tire becoming compromised.

The Krylions do not handle nearly as well as the Pro Race 2 or 3 in my opinion, and the difference is even more noticeable in wet weather. They are far more durable however, and after about 1000 miles they still look new, despite riding over some unavoidable glass.

I am definitely more cautious running the Kyrlions. Overall I am not thrilled with them and would prefer a middle ground between the Pro Race and the Krylion. I have heard the Conti GP 4000 with the "black chili" compound is a nice compromise but have not had the opportunity to try them, having already spent a few hundred on tires this year.

I was able to pick up the Krylions for around $50 a pair on ebay.

G

·
I rode the Krylions for one season. I got about 1200 miles on them and they started to wear down quickly afterwards. Got flats on just about every other ride. The rolling resistance is not the greatest either. Don't expect anything great from these tires except as being a good budget tire of $38-$48 for a set which will get you thru the season if you cash is low.

Jusy my two cents worth..

·
Registered
29 Posts
I've been riding these for a few years. I get about 2K miles on them and they're still serviceable even at that point. I've gotten very few flats with them which is my main criteria.

I've ridden the Michelin Pros (this year) and did not find a noticeable performance difference.

I'm not an overly aggressive descender and I do not race so maybe some of the handling complaints are lost on me.

·
Registered
609 Posts