Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for two years now. Between winter, herniated disk and other health issues, I've either totally missed or was limited in my riding for probably 8 or 9 months of that time.

When I started I definitely had an imbalance in strength. The only place I've ever had post ride soreness or fatigue are my hip flexors. They would burn pretty quickly on difficult climbs or any out of the saddle sprints. My lower back would also get sore during rides (pretty much only climbing), but never after a ride.

I started core strengthening about a year ago, and in late April or so, I've felt good enough to start putting in more miles. I've gotten stronger overall. I've finally gotten to the point that my hip flexors / core are strong enough that I am also feeling the burn where my legs meet my glutes.

Maybe not so oddly, I am still getting a fatigued back but it has moved up to my mid back. Above my pockets but below my shoulder blades. No my lower back. This still only happens when climbing. Specifically, when climbing hard. I can limit it on climbs that are not steep (6% or so), but on steep climbs I need to push to stay upright. And then the fatigue / soreness starts within a couple of minutes.

I understand it is probably time to adjust my core routine. Are these two common places for fatigue / soreness? Where the glutes meet the hamstrings and mid back?

thanks for any feedback.

·
Man, I'm Awesome
2,175 Posts
I'm curious how you could be stressing your hip flexor so so much, they are activated pretty infrequently during a pedal stroke and only in certain circumstances. Are you actively trying to pull up on the pedal stroke?

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·