Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
1,046 Posts
Same thing for me. I started training for a triathlon, so I only ride about 4 days per week, with running and swimming taking up the other 3. Cycling is still the main focus though. I'll get through the burnout. Eventually.

· Registered
8,252 Posts
Try something different on the bike...

I have 5 different bikes for this very thing. To change things up I'm participating in a 6 week Short Track XC series. I haven't ridden off road in years, but wanted to do some this year and needed a bit of a change in pace and it's perfect.

I'd forgotten how much fun MTB'ing was and really enjoyed the race. Just for fun I did it on my new Cyclocross bike...which I'll be using for my first year racing cyclocross this year.

Basically a change of pace and something different and still was able to get in an increadible workout....and 2nd place in sport senior class (2 wipe outs and some rusty skills kept me from getting first :mad2: ).

Some people have single speeds or fixies...or race at a velodrome if they have one near by.

If all else fails take a week off the bike and relax...may be just what you need :idea:

· disgruntled pigskin fan
3,224 Posts
Just take some time off the bike. Do something else for a while and come back to the bike when you come back to your senses.

· Registered
4,838 Posts
Nashua said:
It's the middle of the season, I have no races for about 3 weeks and I am starting to feel a little sick of riding. Any suggestions with motivation would be greatly appreciated.

Every year your type pops around here at this time.

:idea: Get off the bike and do something else and realize you suck at it big time..

and then you'll think nothing about getting back on the bike to ride again.

· Registered
5,270 Posts