Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Spicy Dumpling
9,721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not to bore you guys with more photo questions but I'm like a gutfiddle with a new gun.

Ok, I've got the nice camera to please the techie in me but my photos suck to say the least. I'm looking for some suggestions on books to help with composition. I'm already planning on getting Petersons Understanding Exposure but I need something to help with my composition and just plain spotting something good to shoot..

I went out this weekend and took over 100 pictures. My wife took 20. She had more good photos than I did. It wasn't exposure but composition and spotting something interesting to shoot. I'm an engineer and she's an artist. It shows.

·
had it in the ear before
13,965 Posts
sometimes it's not the camera settings, anyone can buy a nice camera and like that etc....

I wish i had a new gun!

poast pixxors of your wife.

·
still shedding season
8,849 Posts
This one's pretty good, but it's a hard thing to write and read about. Like I'm any kind of expert...

One thing you may want to think about is getting a little more comfortable with the mechanics of how it all works, and then go to a short workshop. Not sure if any of these locations are near you, but I went to it several years ago and got a lot out of it.

·
Stumpcake!
5,950 Posts
VaughnA said:
Not to bore you guys with more photo questions but I'm like a gutfiddle with a new gun.

Ok, I've got the nice camera to please the techie in me but my photos suck to say the least. I'm looking for some suggestions on books to help with composition. I'm already planning on getting Petersons Understanding Exposure but I need something to help with my composition and just plain spotting something good to shoot..