Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Diphthong
4,986 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a mtn bike for 7 years now. I bought my first road bike back in November. I bought the road bike to get in more rides in a shorter time so that I can spend more time with my 10 month-old daughter. A 2 hour ride on the mtn bike takes 3 hours (or more) by the time you travel to and from the trailhead.

I haven't been able to do any mtn biking since the fall and I just got out for the first time this year. All I gotta say is that road riding is soooo boring compared to some good singletrack. My road bike is nice and fast but it can get boring pretty quick out on the road. I don't think it's the routes I take because they are pretty varied. I'm lucky enough to live in a great place (Colorado) for either road or mtn biking. Maybe it's the "danger" of bombing down a rocky singletrack that get's me going. The danger of sharing the road with a car/truck/suv just isn't the same thing. Another thing I've noticed is that when I'm riding around the mtns I don't think about anything but the ride. On the road, there's too much time to think about mundane everyday stuff. Mtn biking is a true escape from day-to-day life for me. I could ride my road bike 100 times more than my mtn bike but I don't think I would make a permanent switch.

Anyway, I was just rambling and wondering what other people thought. Anyone out there switch permanently from mtn to road? What made you switch? Don't you miss it? Is it an age thing? I'm sure there are a number of roadies that mix in a little mtn biking now and then but always go back to the road. What's the big draw for you to stick to the road?

·
eminence grease
18,538 Posts