Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Acting on a nice test ride, an exceptional price (probably the real selling point for me), and some urging from forum members, I bought a Cannondale CAAD10 Ultegra a couple of weeks ago, and couldn't wait to really stretch my legs on it to see what it could do. I just started riding road bikes this year, and moved from a fairly decent loaner Giant OCR1 (circa about 2002-03) to the C'Dale, and while I'm realistic enough to know that a better bike isn't going to make a huge difference, I truly expected a better feel and slightly better performance. But the result has been...anything but better.

In my first few rides on the new bike, on the same routes I typically ride, the C'Dale has actually been 1-2 mph SLOWER on average, much slower on downhills, and an absolute bear on the hills. On the Giant, I could typically climb most hills in the area on the 42T center ring (on a triple) or the smaller 30T ring but one of the smaller cogs, while on the C'Dale, which has a compact double, I can't climb even the most mediocre of hills in the granny 34-25 gear. Hills that I could climb on the Giant with a larger gear, I find myself mashing at about 30-40 RPM or less in the smallest gear range, on the verge of blowing a knee out, and eventually just climbing off and pushing.

The C'Dale weighs in roughly 6 lbs. lighter than the Giant and has a more aero riding position, so it should, in theory, be better in every facet. I always heard moving to a lighter bike feels like a dream when climbing hills. Instead, it's been zero fun to ride and has me on the verge of dumping it in a closet and riding the old dinosaur. I'm at a loss for words. Is there any possibly explanation? I'm no bike mechanic by any means, but is there something on the bike I should be looking at? What could possibly make what should be a quick, fast bike, such a struggle?

·
Registered
11,474 Posts