Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I just stepped into the world of road bikes, and so far this is so fun(though low-speed :/ too much weight?)

I just bought my bike, lights, saddlebag, and speedometer.

I am new to road bike, so I was gonna let the mechanics do the jobs,
but I think I just need to do some basic stuffs, or emergency fixes.

So, I am thinking about getting a small toolkit that has hex wrenches. oh and a tire repair kit, for now.

Any recommendations on brands or model?
(I am hoping for less number of tools for basic jobs:)

Also, if there is any kits or tools that are must-have for all road-bike-riders, please let me know.

Thanks in advance :)

Oh and I also need a cleaning tool.
chain cleaner tool, regular wiping out cleaner should do it?

·
is riding in MOPP4
695 Posts
You should have a good floor pump. A Topeak Joe Blow Sport or Sprint model would be a great starting point. Also, Bondhus ball end hex keys are very good for the money. Some plastic tire levers (Pedros makes nice ones), a patch kit, and spare tubes/tires are things you should have. If you don't have a bike multi-tool, it's not a bad idea to pick one up for the road. Lezyne SV series are nice.

·
Bike Wing Conspiracy
810 Posts
For me just a few things

1. floor pump
2. multi tool
3. tire levers
4. credit card for everything else

I am not qualified nor do I want to be qualified to fix my bike. I leave that to someone else.

I ride a fixed gear exclusively so there is not a lot that goes wrong that I cant fix with the limited tools I do have.

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
Oil: Don't forget to keep your chain and moving parts clean and LIGHTLY oiled. You can search here for brand opinions. Surprisingly... how to clean/oil the chain isn't something we all agree on.