Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· I do not like titles
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Wrenchers,

My brother has an old bike, circa 1990. It is out of tune and he wanted me to fix it up for him so he could ride pavement with his wife. They both are in shape, but not frequent bike riders. I know my brother hasn't ridden a bicycle in at least 10 years.

I am not a real mechanic, I just enjoy biking and have tried to do as much as I can with my bikes. I have a chain cleaner and some bike tools so I volunteered to fix up his bike for him.

My questions are related on where to start. His bike is a 1990 Diamond Back Topenga with Shimano Exage 300 LX derailuers. The bike is completely original, and I know for a fact he hardly ever used it.

I don't want to spend a lot of money fixing this bike up. But I will spend some money to help him get into biking. Any idea on where to start and what are the priorities of fixing an old bike up?

Thanks,

- Bruzer

· Registered
313 Posts
What's wrong with it, if anything?

I might suggest that you replace tires (probably old and dried out/rotted), brake and shifter cables, and brake pads first.

Once that's done, if the chain isn't worn (google "chain wear") then clean it and lube it and verify that the bike shifts properly. If not then google "adjusting derailleur" (with preference for www.sheldonbrown.com or www.parktool.com).

That should get the bike good and ridable, to figure out what -- if anything else -- is wrong with it.

· Registered
14,776 Posts
Is there anything wrong with it?

It might need very little, if it's been ridden that little.

-spin the wheels and see if they're true and the bearings are smooth

-pump up the tires to recommended pressure and see if they hold air

--put a little light lube on brake pivots and derailleur pivots

-run the shifters up and down the gears. adjust as necessary.

- maybe clean the braking surface of the rims. Rubbing alcohol works well