Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've spent a fair bit of time reading online about spray-paint removal, and everyone generally agrees that A: it's a pain in the butt, and B: you should send it to a body shop to have it stripped/repainted. Well, since I'm a cheap-ass college student, I tried a 6 dollar bottle of "all natural citric spray-paint removal" from Home Depot. If people are curious, I can go check the name of the bottle tomorrow; I'm too lazy to get up right now.

Anyway, so the test subject is a Fuji Pulsar - I found it while riding home one day; some person had abandoned it near the town high school, and it had a completely shot front derailleur. The bike was completely covered in matte-black "look i stole this omg i'm cool" spray paint; the only reason why I kept it was b/c the frame size was relatively small (hard to find used frames for short people).

List of liquids that do not remove spray-paint:
Kerosene
WD-40
Brake Cleaner
Pedro's Bike Cleaner
3-M scratch remover
Lighter fluid

I tried all of these liquids, and none of them had any success. I proceeded to try and scuff the paint before I applied the solvents, but that made no progress.

Acetone does work to remove spray-paint without harming the original paint. This may vary from bicycle to bicycle, depending on where it was painted. However, the results aren't very good, and it's very tedious.

The citric spray-paint remover from Home Depot, on the other hand works fairly well, considering the price. Though it's not considered a carcinogen, it has a very strong smell, and any fumes will make you cough. It's as though you're inhaling a whole lot of orange rinds at once. The liquid needs to be sprayed on and left alone for about a minute; any earlier, and you'll be scrubbing hard - any later, and the liquid will just wipe off.
With a fair amount of scrubbing, the spray-paint comes off, with no damage to the original paint.