Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm a newbie trying to get into the game. I just acquired this old(er) Bianchi road bike from my dad. He received this bike from a fellow co-working sometime in the 90's. He rode it for about a year after he got it and hasn't rode it in about 10 years lol. It was in the garage the whole time so not too much damage (i.e sun, rain etc.) It needs a new chain, tires and possible wheels(rims)? I want to fix this up and use it for everyday riding nothing too hardcore like tours lol :p

I was hoping you guys could help me id this bike. From all the forum lurking the last couple of weeks I've noticed some nice bikes! :thumbsup: After further investigating I could not locate a proper serial number. It does have a Made in Taiwan sticker so we know where its made. It also has a sticker below the seat post marked Cr-Mo. I tried to take the best pics with the crappy cam I have and poor lighting lol but if anyone needs better pics let me know. Ok enough talking more pics!!

P.S I don't know much just the basics so any advice is welcome!! thanks in advance

·
So. Calif.
2,861 Posts
The exposed cables look rusty, too.
At best the cable operated stuff (deraillers, brakes) might feel sticky or sluggish.
At worst you might get a brake failure :eek:

Brake pads are also likely hardened or glazed. If Kool-Stop pads are available to fit your brakes, the modern rubber compounds are pretty nice -- i recently replaced my lightly used OEM pads w/ Koolstop.

Alternatively, lay medium grit sandpaper (#80-120) flat on a table and sand off the 'glazed' pad surface ... a few strokes should do it.

some good resources for information & DIY mechanical work include :
http://www.parktool.com/repair
http://www.sheldonbrown.com

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
jsedlak said: