Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
"Cypress Gardens" Fl.
685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,.....first time I ever posted on this forum.
I've been commuting to work every day now for the last 3 years, and recently I was transferred to another post, which is 14 miles round trip every day. This is considerably longer than what I was riding, but I'm having a blast though, and getting in better shape in the process. Last month I commuted 300 miles, just going to and from work. About half of that is in the dark, since I work the night the shift. Needless to say, I needed a dependable, bright light that would illuminate the road better than the old cateye l.e.d. light I was using without spending $400 bucks. Enclosed are pics of my new bike light I built out of 2-in pvc pipe using an mr16 20 watt halogen bulb from any Lowes store. The light is very effective, and I can easily ride 20 mph without any visibility problems. I have about $20 bucks invested in this light, with another $12 bucks for a 5 amp/hour 12v sealed lead acid battery I put in my back pack. The battery weighs about 4 lbs, but if any of you do any night riding this is the way to go.

·
Sticky Valentine
28,404 Posts
Looks great man. And uber water proof as well!

I'm not really down with spending hundreds of dollars on a light, so I was thinking about doing something similar. I had never thought of using PVC as the casing though. Great idea! Can you not fit the battery in a water bottle? Or is the space too prescious for ya? I would think that being attached to your bike with a wire would be kind of a pain.

joe

·
Resident Curmudgeon
11,979 Posts
Nice job on the light. Any chance of getting a "how to"?

·
"Cypress Gardens" Fl.
685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
In the works now