Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am pretty new to road cyling in general and only got into it to do triathlons. my problem is that my stuff is going numb on my rides i have tried different seats without alot of help. today i did a 46 mile ride today with a new saddle finished at about 11 it is 8 pm now and still feeling alittle numb starting to freak abit HELP

·
Banned
6,492 Posts
Very common, and nothing to ignore

That's a very common side effect, and you shouldn't ignore it. It can lead to nerve and blood vessel damage that can result in impotence.
Fortunately, there's been a ton of stuff written about it here and elsewhere. Google something like "cycling impotence" or "cycling numbness" or any number of things about the pudendal nerve and you'll find more information than you can apply in a lifetime.
FWIW, a Brooks B17 saddle solved the problem for me. Sometimes just adjusting the tilt so the nose of the saddle is slightly down will do the trick.

·
Fat'r + Slow'r than TMB
10,086 Posts
anaheimhills said:
yes the bike was fitted to me. i am riding alot in the areobars
Is the seat you are using designed for riding in the aerobars. A lot of tri seats are designed to be a bit wider in the nose and also have a curve to alow the boys to not be squished when hunched over in the aerobars. I have been through 4 -5 seats in the last 2 years, just went to the men's Terry Fly saddle and so far so good on long rides. No numbness or pain. Saddles sometimes take a while to get right.

·
Registered
549 Posts