Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, well I have had the bike for almost a month and have put about 200 miles on it. The official weight on the scale came in at 15.07lbs (I'll post the weight pic when I get home). Rough specs:

Full Dura Ace w/crank set
speedplay pedals
Bontrager Race XXX Lite Carbon wheels.

****PLEASE NOTE I AM NOT A PRO AND THESE ARE JUST MY Opinions******

I went on a 50 mile ride on Sunday and it was one of my longer rides where I could really get a route with different terrain, hills/flats/head wind etc. First the bike is amazingly light, when I used to ride/race mountain bikes, I remember it felt as if there was some carrying weight in the rear and with the Madone it feels like there is absolutely no weight when you ride. I upgraded to the Dura-Ace crank and installed ceramic bearing in the BB, and I thought it was one of the better decisions I made. When pedaling the it's super smooth and the shifting is right on.

The bike feels very stiff while climbing hills and even better on the flats when you get out of the saddle and sprint away. And it is very comfortable on the road which is really nice especially in Chicago where the road are like sh....t.

Overall the bike is amazing, I love it but there are a couple of things I would like to comment about:

-When I am riding in cross winds I find it hard to keep the bike stable. I'm not sure if it's the bladed spokes, or just the fact of cross winds.

-The bike is varies responsive on small quick turns, but I felt on the sharper ones I really had trouble turning. A couple of times I almost overshot the turns. I am not sure if it is just me being inexperienced on the road, but on my mountain bike it was great with all the turns and didn't require too much effort on very sharp turns.