Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the whole roadie thing.. been MTB'ing for a while.

I've got an opportunity to purchase a used cannondale.. the bike is a 2002 r2000 caad5. It has the stock ultegra components save for the brakes (don't know whose those are), ksyrium sl wheelset, easton carbon seatpost and stock carbon fork/headset. The frame has been repainted a cool-looking metallic red.

I don't know how many miles are on this thing.. I was also led to believe the bike was a 2003 caad7 until cannondale guessed at the manufacture date to be July `02 based on the serial number.. the chick I talked to wasn't quite sure.

the original owner wants $800 for the bike. To the naked eye it looks fine.. no dents, cracks or the like. The wheels are showing their age with some peeling paint on the spokes and decals.

Is this a worthy purchase? Do i need to worry about the frame breaking on a frame this old?

Thanks for your help.

· Registered
1,894 Posts
Based on your info the bike is a few years old and Caad 5 is not a bad frame beside you don't know much about history of the bike I would stay away from it, reason is should any thing wrong with the frame you are not cover under warrenty replacement, there goes $800 bucks out the door. Save your money and go with a new bike instead and that is my 2 cents.

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I just got off the phone with a better contact at cannondale.. It is indeed a r2000 caad7 based on the build date (july `02) and the fact that the seatstays are an hourglass shape vs. straight. Based on this new information I think I've got a pretty decent deal on my hands so I'll pull the trigger on it.

· Registered
1,894 Posts
Cannondale offered the hourglass stay since Caad 5 design I hope you are happy with the decision.

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·