Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Carbon Fiber = Explode!
3,438 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It has acetone and all this other crap in it.

Or do you guys use Goo Gone or 100% pure Acetone?

my first dip with tubies so I want to do it right.

·
Steaming piles of opinion
10,503 Posts
I'm not a tubular expert, but nail polish remover is essentially overpriced acetone.

Unless they happen to try to add moisturizers or other girly stuff, which can't particularly help your cause, and might bring real problems.

·
Registered
21,726 Posts
The best solvent for most tubular glues is toluene (aka toluol) or xylene (aka xylol). These are aromatic solvents and are far more effective than somethink like acetone. If you go to your local paint store and read some labels on paint thinners you can look for "aromatic solvents" which is what classically toluene is.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Lots of people recommend lots of different solvents to get tubular glue off. I had some concern about exactly which ones may or may not damage rims, so even though I don't have Zipp rims I am following their recommendation. They state anything other than acetone or Goof Off (not Goo Gone) will void the warranty on their rims. I'm sure others are fine as well, but figured I might as well play it safe.

I just used Goof Off and it works, but still requires a bit of time and elbow grease-it was not quite the magic solution I hoped it would be.

·
Registered
3,444 Posts