Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to cycling. The past couple of times I crossed GWB in either direction, I've had "issues". First, that bloody U-turn towards the start/end of the path on the NY side. What's the best way to navigate? Clipped in/out? Wait until there are no pedestrians? Last time I was heading to NJ, there was a pedestrian half-way up. I waited until she turned the corner. I started up, only to find her stopped a little past the U-turn. Tipped over, but propped myself up on the railing.

The 2nd place where I have "issues" are at those L-R-L 90 degree turns at a couple of points on the bridge. I always look ahead to see if there's oncoming traffic and ride slow, but this one time, a guy coming the opposite direction came out of nowhere. We nearly collided head on (sorry). Had to slam on my brakes, and was fortunate enough to avoid a collision by literally an inch (did a front-wheel wheelie, which was kinda cool).

All joking aside, I just want to be safe while on the road (for my benefit as well as others). Any tips/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
585 Posts
This is a wonderful question. And I'm sure people will give you lots of responses that are going to make it more complicated than it needs to be, but in all honestly, you just have to slow down and consider safety above all else. So if that means unclip? Then unclip. If it means to wait for the pedestrian to pass? Then let them pass.

It appears that you did the right thing as you didn't run into anyone or anything. The concern that I feel with most cyclists is that it is inconvenient to unclip, to slow down, and actually stop. But we have to practice theses things for the sake of safety even though it slows down our momentum.