Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Nearly impossible to get on gator skin hard tail tires

I posted on this a couple of days ago. Oddly that thread has been removed. I managed to finally get on one tire, after using dish liquid and leaving the tire in the sun (not in that order). I managed to get on the second tire, but I have ruined three tubes in the process and now have to continue with this insane task of putting a tube in a tire. What am I doing that is ruining the tubes? I suppose I have to be more careful not to pinch them or whatever. I am really concerned now that if I ever actually need to change the tubes on the fly I will be stranded. How can a tire be so insanely difficult to get on? I am not new to the task as I have been installing tires on MTB's for several years.

Any ideas? I want these tires and I paid for them. But why they are designed in such a fashion as to be insanely difficult to install is beyond me.

Thank you all for your input

·
Registered
9,658 Posts
They won't be as hard to change the next time. Pump 'em up to like 120 PSI between a few ride (not to ride with though) and that'll make it better quicker.

They aren't known for being that tough. Either; you're just not good at it, the tires are a bit out of spec, it's the rims, or your rim tape is too thick.

·
Banned Sock Puppet
14,423 Posts
The "secret" to making a tire easier to mount is making sure the bead is squashed down into the deepest part of the rim on the opposing side. That helps tremendously.

Also, as hard as it may be, resist the urge to use tire levers when mounting as they can pinch tubes.

As Jay Strongbow said, the type of rims you are using can make a difference - especially tubeless compatible rims. If tape is too thick or wide, that can be problematic as well.

·
Forever a Student
4,963 Posts
As suggested, you're doing it wrong.