Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding a decent hybrid for a couple of years and teaching a local spinning class.

I'm ready to move into a more serious road bike and start training to run a century every once in a while...

I'm totally new to road bikes and have no relationship with an LBS. Can anyone recommend an LBS and specific contact there to help me pick out a first road bike and get as close to a perfect fit as possible? I'm 40+ and have some lower back issues, so I want to make sure I start with a good fit and the right bike.

Thanks for any suggestions...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Creakyknees said:
Hi Stewart,

What general area of town?

Also cruise the "sticky" threads at the top of the Beginner forum, lots of good bike buying tips there.

Good luck, and enjoy.

Any area of town, really. I'm in the northwest, but I don't mind driving to get the best fit.

Thanks for the suggestion on the stickies - it was reading them that actually drove me to make this post in the Texas forum looking for the best fit, as that seemed to be stressed!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
b24fsb said:
I would recomend Sun & Ski Sports thats located at 6100 westheimer. ask for Brad or Jason, both those guys know there bikes and know how to fit and there service is really good
Thanks...! I bought my hybrid at Sun and Ski at Memorial City Mall a few years ago - had a very positive experience, overall.

·
Registered
3,221 Posts