Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all so I am at a crossroads....I have been cycling for almost 5 years and am just about ready to quit clipless pedals all together. I have a fallen arch on my right foot and have seen probably the top 3-4 fitters in the greater LA area and they have all come up short. I understand the anatomy and how forefoot varus works and this is NOT a varus issue. When sitting at my desk my right toes point about 20-25 degrees out and its worse when i ride.

Here is my question before I say screw it to clipping in.......is there anyway with a pedal extender to achieve a 25-30 degree heel in turn without resorting to a blow torch and hammer.

I have looked into speedplay X2 (on speedplay zeros now) but the claims of additional rotation over the zeros looks like bad marketing or math because the cleats are identical as far as the range of motion the spindle can possibly rotate within. The only difference is one can be limited.

HELP!!!

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
you have it in reverse....x series has no adjustment capacity and zeros have a decent amount but its not even close to what I need. I need about 10 degrees of inward rotation more than zeroes have (which is what I have now).

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You need pedal extenders, which move your feet further out from the cranks thereby allowing your heels to angle in and your toes out more... Kneesaver.net

Already done on the right foot that has the fallen arch....I also already have the proper varus wedges and insoles.....I really need cleat advice for an extreme rotation.

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
you have it in reverse....x series has no adjustment capacity and zeros have a decent amount but its not even close to what I need. I need about 10 degrees of inward rotation more than zeroes have (which is what I have now).