Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just got a specialized allez and i've managed to bend the crank already or maybe it was bent when i bought it but it rubs up against the front deraileur in one spot, can this one be bent into shape or should i just buy a new one and can I throw any road bike double on their or do I need a specific one(i'm a roadie noob) I right now its an inhouse crank I think? sugino but i was thinking of slaping on a tiagra or 105 but didn't know if that would work, also I noticed that the shimano 105 cranks that are for sell on ebay look very different from the ones on shimanos own site ( different model, year or fake ?!?) has anyone had issues with ordering parts of ebay? :confused:

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
?

Highly unlikely that a crank arm is bent. More likely possibilities:

- Crank arm is loose on the spindle, and therefore misaligned. You'd probably notice movement with this, though.

- Derailleur is misadjusted or crooked. Try straightening and then adjusting der. position.

It's really hard to bend a crankarm. It's one of the strongest and stiffest parts on a bike. It rakes a pretty good crash or similar accident. And you can't safely bend an aluminum part back into shape. The metal will be weakened dangerously.

Check your derailleur.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yea sorry I meant the chain ring, I've been adjusting for hours and I can't get full range with out it scraping on the derailuer on one side or the other, I can also see where the chain ring very slightly bent went turning it

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
Ah, you're likely right.

rkj__ said:
I think he is trying to say that the chainring is bent, and hence the rubbing on the front deraileur in one spot.

There is no need to buy a whole new crankset. The chainring likely can be bent back, or simply replaced.