Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Need Advice on a possible purchase *UPDATED*

Hi,
I am new to this forum and want to apologize in advance if this is in the wrong section. First, I am brand new to road biking, it has been something I have wanted to try for a while and I am finally taking the plunge. I have looked through numerous threads on this site and want to say how great the information on here is, it has been a real eye opener and really helped me when looking at different bikes online.
The reason for my post is that I found what I think is a decent deal on craigslist and I thought that if anyone had any feedback, good or bad, this would be the place.
The bike is a GT Force? although I am not too sure about this as I have not found a similar one anywhere online. The guy selling it does not seem to have a great amount of knowledge although he has been very good about trying to answer my questions. It is Reynolds 4130 steel frame, Shimano RSX derailleurs and shifters. Unfortunately that is about all the information I can get about the bike. I have attached a picture that he sent me.

ANy information anyone may have about this bike would be great, he is selling it for $245 which after doing a lot of research seems to be a decent deal.

Thanks,
Matt

·
Registered
303 Posts
pretty decent find and looks to be a good bike for a first-time roadie!...RSX is Shimano's entry level and the bike looks to be an early to mid 90s. Looking at the boxes in the pictures, looks like he might've gotten a bunch of older, unbuilt bikes on the cheap.

My suggestions:
1) since the seller doesn't seem too technical, take it to someone who works on bikes, maybe an LBS, and get a second opinin on the assembly.
2) might want to look at a different seat...that one looks very uncomfortable.
3) ride the hell out of it!

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Do you have any idea whether it will fit you? That's the first thing.