Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I just found this awesome Trek 5200 frame at a garage sale, but I'm having trouble figuring out the year of the bike... can anyone help? I uploaded a picture of the frame here:

Also, I can't find the size anywhere! Does anyone know how to measure/where to find the size? Yah I'm a newbie.

Thanks!
Mike

·
Registered
99 Posts
measurement

Measure from the center of the bottom bracket shell to the top of the top tube, paralleling the seat tube. Make sense? Since the tubes are thick, the C-T measurments make the Trek frames ride a bit smaller than they are labeled.

Is that a threadless headset on that pup or an adapter setup?

Why did the prev. owner strip and sell the frame?

Cool.

Steve

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
amflyer said:
Measure from the center of the bottom bracket shell to the top of the top tube, paralleling the seat tube. Make sense? Since the tubes are thick, the C-T measurments make the Trek frames ride a bit smaller than they are labeled.

Is that a threadless headset on that pup or an adapter setup?

Why did the prev. owner strip and sell the frame?

Cool.

Steve
Ha I have no idea why he sold it. But it was $60 so I couldn't resist! Here's a picture of the headset/stem. I really don't know anything about it except that it says AheadSet by Dia Compe and Tioga on it. The stem is made by Ritchey I think.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Not to look a gift horse in the mouth...

but give the frame a thorough exam, looking for any cracks. Check the bottom bracket area especially. Unless the seller knew squat about bikes or was just desparate to unload it for quick cash, I can't imagine parting with that much hardware, especially on an OCLV frame, for $60.

·
Registered
8,047 Posts