Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I haven't posted in a while because I mostly mountain bike but I've been road biking with my friends a lot more lately. Here is my issue:

I have an old 2002 model 58 or 60cm (cant remember) Iron Horse Victory road bike (that I love) that I've been riding since 2003. It's steel, fast but not very comfortable for longer rides and climbs because I believe the handle bars are a tad too low. I'm 6'2", 240lbs with 34" inseam. When I was younger, I loved the speed and sprinting ability of this bike. But in the past 5 years or so, I've been going through many adjustments trying to get the fit just right. The main issue is on long climbs. I cant seem to get good power when climbing or out of the seat sprinting. I feel like my I'm too low even when on the top of my bars and I never use the drops. I've moved my stem up as high as it can go on the steerer tube; it was kinda short from the factory because it's a race bike. I went through different size stems, adjusting the seat and seat tube, flipping the stem upside down, ect. Got on my friends 63cm frame and his felt right. The final conclusion is the bars are just too low for me.

So I was thinking about buying a new carbon fork with a full length steerer tube and adding some more spacers. I notice a lot of new bikes coming this way anyway. I figured this would be the best way to get the bars up 30mm or so. I really like the other aspects of the bike so I just want to keep it and replace the fork. If that doesn't work, I'll be looking at selling it and getting a new bike. If you guys have any other thoughts or opinions on this approach, please let me know.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
If you like everything else about the bike then a different angled stem may be your least expensive option.