Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone!

I am a newbie here and I'm looking to get your suggestions on a new bike, I've been cycling recreationally on an old beat-up road bike for a while now but I really want to get a new road bike for my commute to work which is around 12 miles. I am used to the straight handlebars of mountain bikes and even though my current road bike has drop handlebars, it's got additional brake levers right below the tops of the handlebars that help you brake so I am used to riding on the tops while having access to the brakes. I am aware that the new bikes don't have additional brake levers which is fine but I would prefer something with a high head tube as it'd be easier on my back and posture. I weigh about 164lbs and am 5 feet 9 inches and as mentioned my preferred riding position would be on the top or the hood (with easy access to the brakes). Keeping this in mind, what bike would you guys recommend, I was interested in the FELT bikes but most of their tubes seem to be low. I am looking for something around an $800 or below price range. Let me know what you guys think.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
No hills, just a bridge that I gotta climb but it's not incredibly steep or anything.
In that case, for an $800 and below price point, you can get an awesome single speed bicycle with drop handlebars, that would require very little maintenance. OTOH, there aren't too many decent road bikes out there with drop handlebars, at that price point, unless you buy online from either Bikesdirect, Nashbar, or Performance.

Wait a minute!

Do you actually prefer straight handlebars to drop handlebars?

* Most hybrids have straight handlebars and would be well within your price range.

Hybrids also make better short distance commuters, because they require the cyclist to take a more upright sitting position, where they might better observe the traffic.

·
Registered
5 Posts