Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have decided to get a road bike and so far I have narrowed it down to...
-Giant ocr 2
-trek 1200
-Fuji newest
-Felt f80
-Specialized allez sport

All of these bikes seem to be in the same price range but I simply cannot decide which bike I should choose. I also do not know if I should haggle the price in a local bike shop or try to find the bike online(having no luck so far). I have read threads of people finding the same components of a bike I am after for a much cheaper price, but I think I would feel more comfortable with a more widely known company like trek or giant. My last question is, has anyone found these bikes being sold online with the possibility of shipping or has anyone found any of these bikes new for under their MSRP. Thank you so much for any suggestions, I am new to road bikes but I love to ride daily and I am just trying to find the best price.

·
Banned
1,013 Posts
Your mind is not lost

Most of these bikes are the same. Get the prettiest one IMHO.

Dont forget you may pay more at a local shop, but you also get a better fit, and a warenty.
If anything breaks with an online bike, you may get screwed over, or have to wait for replacement parts.

·
Banned
6,492 Posts
Here's a brief version of my "all the same" lecture....

At that price level, there's not enough room for manufacturers to do much--they'll all have about the same components, with cost-cutting in different places (cheap headset on one vs. cheap saddle on another, stuff like that). If you see something that looks like a steal, there will be something you can't see that makes up the difference. So buy the one that fits best, or from the shop with the best reputation, or the one that's prettiest, or flip a coin. That's what all of us do, unless we're at the point where we can buy custom.

·
Registered
11,555 Posts