Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding for 3 years and need to upgrade my Giant Fcr 2 to a road bike. I bought the bike to commute and for fitness but have been bitten by the bug and have been riding in centuries and am looking to do some duathalons this year. I have tried to modify my FCR slightly to resemble a road bike by dropping the flat handle bars and putting 700x23 tires on it but it still is a hybrid in geometry.
I am 6'2" and 176lbs and ride about 2-3 times a week 25miles each. I like to push it hard and need a bike that I can grow into.
Heres my dilemma... I have been looking at used carbon/ultegra bikes like the TCR advanced and Tarmac pro and really like the look of these bikes and have sat on them in the lbs and both feel good, but have not test ridden due to crappy weather. I've been told that these bikes would beat my 39yr old body up in a century ride but some have told me that the carbon frames would prevent that. LBS has advised me toward the Roubaix or the Defy to have a more comfortable ,upright ride for centuries but I really would like to be in more of a race position if my body can handle it over a 100 mile ride. Has anyone ridden these bikes in centuries with my same cycling experience because it would be difficult to test ride one of these bikes for 100 miles to find out the answer.
Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!:idea:

·
Registered
3,394 Posts