Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been cycling for a couple months now, and I'm relatively sure that it's going to be a long-term form of fun and exercise for me. Thing is, I've been using these $20 sunglasses for the last couple months I bought at my LBS and they snapped the other day. No, I didn't step on them or run them over with the car. I had them on my head and bumped them with my hand (unfortunately right on the hinge) and they snapped. Uh oh. No more cycling 'til I get something to cover my eyes...
Now, I went back to my LBS a week ago and they didn't have any more. They should get them in next week though, so

Option 1) wait for the LBS to stock the sunglasses and buy another pair for $20. This is nice because I know I like the sunglasses and they're only $20. It's not so good because I'm afraid they'll break again in a couple months and because I have to wait another week to get them and I want to go cycling now.

Option 2) try to find another pair of cheap sunglasses. Not sure how I feel about this one. I haven't been that impressed with most sunglasses I've worn, and I'm looking for something I can wear both on the bike and casually.

Option 3) spring for a pair of "nicer" sunglasses. I really was tempted to do this the other day. I drove 15 minutes to find a pair of oakley half-jackets because I had read good reviews and they weren't "too" expensive. I tried them on and didn't particularly like how they fit my face, so I left and checked out one of the other bike shops in my area that stocked Rudy Project sunglasses. I liked the Rydons, but between the price tag and their $20 charge to switch lenses around for me (so I could have a frame and lens combo I liked), I didn't buy them. I don't mind buying online, but I'd have to try on the sunglasses locally first to make sure I liked them. Also, I'm not sure how much I really want to spend on sunglasses...