Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding for 3 years. I bought a 2007 Specialized Tarmac Pro last year. It came with Dura Ace wheels. Just last weekend my front wheel was stolen. I would like to get some good wheels, but can only spend under $1000. I am a recreational rider and ride between 100 and 150 miles a week. I weigh 190 pounds. What wheels should I get?

· A wheelist
11,689 Posts
Whatever you get, wherever you get them from get custom handbuilts, not factory prebuilts - you get more for your money, less weight and they're much easier and cheaper to service. The only things you miss out on are flash decals, bizarre spoking patterns and seeing your wheels in full page glossy magazine ads.

· Online Wheel Builder
3,214 Posts
Regardless of what you get I would definitely take Mike T's advice. Hand build is always going to be better than factory built. But for your weight, you may want to consider a set of Alchemy ELF/ORC hubs laced onto a Kinlin XR270 or 300. This is a well-constructed, durable wheelset that you can put on your bike and not have to think about. These hubs build up a very stiff wheel particularly for bigger guys in your weight range. You will really notice this when putting the fat watts down on a steep incline. The power transfer is absolutely unrivaled. Additionally these rims are a perfect blend of durability and weight. If you were to go with an XR270 you would be looking at approx. 440 grams per rim, making the total build setup in the mid 1400 gram range depending on spoke type/count. This would make your bike feel very responsive and you would have a bit of money left in your pocket with a price tag of just over $900.

· A wheelist
11,689 Posts