Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to road cycling. I am looking to purchase my first road bike and have narrowed it down to 2. I am looking at a 2010 Specialized Allez Sport and a 2009 Specialized Sequoia. Both are new. I know that the sequoia is built a little more for comfort and long rides where as the allez is more for speed. At this point in time I am not totally sure what I will be doing more. The sequoia appears to be a little more upgraded then the allez & $100.00 cheaper. It has zerts (I guess that is how you spell it), a carbon seat post, and a second set of brake levers. My questions are:
1. How much faster will the allez be over the sequoia?
2. If riding with a group and I going to be able to keep up with the sequoia?
3. If I get the sequoia and become more experienced in road riding am I going to want an allez 1yr down the road. I need the bike to last a little while so getting a new one in a year or two is not an option.
4. Both have the same components on them. Is one frame and geometry just better then the other?

Thanks for your time,
Joe

· Administrator
13,168 Posts
ponyboy1995 said:
I am new to road cycling. I am looking to purchase my first road bike and have narrowed it down to 2. I am looking at a 2010 Specialized Allez Sport and a 2009 Specialized Sequoia. Both are new. I know that the sequoia is built a little more for comfort and long rides where as the allez is more for speed. At this point in time I am not totally sure what I will be doing more. The sequoia appears to be a little more upgraded then the allez & $100.00 cheaper. It has zerts (I guess that is how you spell it), a carbon seat post, and a second set of brake levers. My questions are:
3. If I get the sequoia and become more experienced in road riding am I going to want an allez 1yr down the road. I need the bike to last a little while so getting a new one in a year or two is not an option.