Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm in the market for a new road bike. I sold my old TREK 1.2, it was a great entry level road bike, I enjoyed it, but I felt myself outgrowing it the last few years as I started riding more and more and for much longer distances. I went to a LBS here in NYC and I spoke to a guy who showed me a 2011 Scott Speedster S10, definitely a good bike, with an Ultegra Groupset. It was marked down to 1,304 from 1,650. I wasn't too crazy about the color way though, I really want a red bike. Probably sounds superficial, but I'm looking for a serious long term bike, and I want to be 100% in love with it. Color, components et all.

That's when I came into contact with a Specialized Tarmac Mid Compact for 1,450. Carbon frame and fork, really nice looking, I admire the look and geometry of certain Specialized frames. I also love the fact that it's a full carbon body, however... the components are pretty much on the lowest end of the Shimano line with Sora STIs. I love the bike, but don't love the components. The Sora STIs were what I had on the TREK. I just think it's strange that such a nice bike would come with such low end components, but I know that Specialized has to cut corners someplace.

I'm kind of torn as far as what I should do. The SCOTT bike was nice, but I was more into it for the components rather than the style, and I think that if the Tarmac came with better components at that price point, I'd be sold 100%, but it doesn't so I'm a bit unsure. I was looking online at Merlin Cycles and they sell full Ultegra group sets for super marked down prices. I suppose I could upgrade the components down the line if I'd like too, which I'm sure I would.