Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to this so forgive me for my ignorance. Just to let you know how ignorant I am my current bike is a Huffy. I have started riding over the last couple weeks and plan to start riding to work pulling my son to and from daycare. I just bought a Burley D'lite bike trailer and now i have to start thinking about a new bike.

My father in law offered to give me a Trek 620 when he heard I was looking into purchasing a new bike and I guess I would like some advice from you guys. Is the 620 any good? It seems pretty old. The bike I was leaning towards was a Trek 7100 so I kind of wonder how this compares to that one. Am I better off taking the free bike maybe spend a little on some upgrades and potentially have a better bike for similar money. This is my first post so go easy on me.

·
Professional Lurker
242 Posts
Unless there was a more recent iteration of the 620 series (like happened with the 720 series), this is an excellent touring bike from the early to mid 1980s. It was made with solid components, excellent tubing, and should last for many more years of riding.

If you post a picture, people also might be able to offer more information.

You can also look at the brochures at www.vintage-trek.com from, say, 1983-1984 to see if this is the bike you have.

·
Palm trees & sunshine!
24,200 Posts
Kurto2021 said:
I am pretty new to this so forgive me for my ignorance. Just to let you know how ignorant I am my current bike is a Huffy. I have started riding over the last couple weeks and plan to start riding to work pulling my son to and from daycare. I just bought a Burley D'lite bike trailer and now i have to start thinking about a new bike.