Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
In need of sock puppet
9,420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Cooper, and I'm a network dummy and I could use a little advice form the IT savvy.

I acquired a swank notebook from my previous employer and am using for my business at home. It's running XP Pro SP3. I'm an admin user logging onto a work domain. Thing is, I don't need to use the domain any longer, and my home network is workgroup based. I haven't had any luck setting up a bridge to connect the domain machine with my workgroup.

I can find no shortage of instructions for switching the machine to a workgroup, which seems the most logical choice. But in doing so there has to be some downside. I guess I would need to import my Outlook PST so I can still access my old email. My Palm desktop also seems to be tied to my domain based user. I also sync Outlook to a Symbian based mobile phone. Those three are my biggest concerns.

- Are there any other issues I should expect with the change?
- Is setting up a bridge going to be easier?
- Does this post make my hard drive look fat?

·
Strained coccyx etc etc
21,050 Posts
thinkcooper said:
Hi, my name is Cooper, and I'm a network dummy and I could use a little advice form the IT savvy.

I acquired a swank notebook from my previous employer and am using for my business at home. It's running XP Pro SP3. I'm an admin user logging onto a work domain. Thing is, I don't need to use the domain any longer, and my home network is workgroup based. I haven't had any luck setting up a bridge to connect the domain machine with my workgroup.