Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Trek and to road biking and have had my 2010 Trek Madone 4.5 for two weeks now. My concern is that the chain is slipping in several gears (13 - 16). I also notice a clicking when I coast (not pedaling) and then start back in again. It makes a clicking sound (not everytime, but enough)? I am not sure if I am doing something wrong when shifting, but can't think of what that might be. I am hoping it is just an adjustment that needs to be made and will be taking it back to the LBS, but was wondering if anyone else has had these problems with a new bike (about 50 miles on it so far as it has been raining quite a bit). Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
409 Posts
That new, they will fix it almost certainly; I wouldn't worry. Unless of course you smashed it on something or what not. But JRA, yeah, shouldn't be too much trouble.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the feedback. I talked to the LBS and they said it is most likely just an adjustment, but I am to bring it in and they will road test it and tweak as necessary to get it right. They said whatever it is, they will remedy. By the way, I didn't smash anything, I am still in the "treat it like a baby" stage...
Thanks again...

·
Stay Fit!
182 Posts
You'll probably have to do this twice. All the mechanicals are mating together during this "break-in" phase. LBS will adjust now and then in about 90 days the cables will have stretched to their normal limit and you'll need the 90 day tune up with will adjust the front and rear derailleurs. By the way this is a zero dollar service at my LBS. Good Luck!

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
eyezlee said: