Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding in Chicago for almost 7 years. Through last fall I had been riding a mountain bike that I bought with my paper route money somewhere between the ages of 10-12. Pathetic? Yes. But, money was a major issue until recently and I had the mentality that if it still worked, why not keep riding it? The bike is really unsafe to be riding with bad brakes and who knows what else being wrong with it, so I'm refusing to get it out on the road this spring which is forcing me to shop for a new bike.

I've decided I definitely want a single speed, and I like the idea of the hub that I can flip to become fixed gear if I feel like going that route later on. I've been to 7 different shops to look at single speeds just to get an idea of what's out there and to price different bikes, but I'm definitely more overwhelmed than I was when I started. I know the most important thing is for me to get out and test ride, but the weather has been very rainy lately so I plan to do that ASAP. I'll tell you what I've looked at so far, with most of these being between $600-$900.

Jamis Beatnik & Sputnik
KHS Flite 100
Raleigh Rush Hour
Schwinn Madison
Giant Bowery Mashup
Surly Steamroller
Scattante

There is also a local shop that is basically a junk yard of old bikes that they convert to single speeds and offers a 60 day warranty. This would be the most economical, as I could get a bike for about $200, but I don't know if that would be worth it in the long run. I like the idea of "recycling", but I don't want to have to buy a new bike in a couple years. I'm also regularly checking craigslist, but I'm nervous about buying used.

I'd really like to stay close to $500 if I go new, but that seems like it will be difficult, except maybe for the 2008 Schwinn Madison. Keep in mind that I've been riding a POS for as long as I can remember so anything will feel good compared that one.