Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hmm... I started riding again last weekend, I have natural ability when it comes to sports and such, so the riding came right back. I started slow with a few miles and now I can make 5-8 miles really easily and even at a good pace. I am a big guy at 6'2" and 275lbs, so I have a long way to go in getting back down to 210-220lbs. I have a big bone structure and have always been a big guy, but when I was 23, I was 215lbs with a 32" waist. I don't think those days are coming back, but maybe I could get close. I just have to start with small gains I'm thinking.

I got my wife and myself matching Schwinn Aluminum Comp bikes, which these bikes had good write ups from other's who have purchased them. I switched my back rim to a double wall rim because of my weight, but I am very happy so far with the bike. I need to take my wifes to the Local Bike shop though and have them adjust her front and rear derailer's, since there not so perfect, but mine is working really well.

I am really enjoying going out riding, it makes me feel good afterwards. I just have to start a diet, nothing to radical, but at least watch what I eat. I am trying to lose weight and get in shape, so I can get my blood pressure down. I am on a low dosage of blood pressure medicine and I am trying to maybe get to where I don't need to take it anymore.

Anyway, I am glad to be here after a long time off or riding... I will keep you posted and hope to encourage other's to join in.

·
08 Madone 5.2 Rider
225 Posts
Hi, RJ...

Sounds like you're on your way back to healthy living! Good for you...