Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I am new to the sport, I got my first bike (Giant OCR) last Saturday and have taken it out twice now, nothing long but enough to get a feel for the sport. I have noticed that when I am shifting through the gears my chain is hitting the front derailleur (mainly when I am in the extremes like either smallest cogs or both largest cogs) but it also dose it when I am in the middle front gear. Is this normal or is this something I should talk to my LBS about, or can I fix it myself?
When I test road it at my LBS it was fine.
Thanks, I think I will have a lot more questions.

·
Registered
3,221 Posts
Cross chaining (big/big or little/little) is NEVER recommended, especially for a triple. It puts the chain at extreme angles and can snap the rear derailleur (especially when in big/big). Regarding being in the middle ring, you should be able to go through all the cogs will none (or very little) rubbing when in the big cog or the little cog. Ask your LBS to adjust the front derailleur...they can be tricky to get right.

·
Registered
3 Posts
depending on what shifters you have you may have a trim click to get rid of this rubbing in the middle ring, everything above sora should have this, to use it you shift up into the middle ring and when the chain is rubbing on the inside of the front derailleur you can give it a half click down and the rubbing should go away. idk how well i explained that but you LBS should also be able to show you how to use this.

·
Cat 6 rider
3,119 Posts