Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
jaydub_u
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding in Sept. 08. I'm 51 years old and have come down from 286lbs to 240lbs in the last year. So I started road biking again as I used to do it when in my 20's and it kept me in good shape. Well after 25 years away from it I bought a entry bike last year and just recently upgraded to a Cervelo S1 2 weeks ago. I am trying to commit to minimum of 60 miles a week with daylite savings and all and I actually rode 75 my first week. So today I did my longest ride yet. 48miles. Took 4 hours which included 4 stops. One at a LBS for about 25 min. But there was some pretty heavy uphill for about 4 miles. Averaged 16.1 mph. I want to do a metric century by sometime in june and a 100 mile'r by end of year. We'll see. The guys that were leaving me in the dust last year are struggling to keep up with me now. 3 mos. with a trainer through the winter has really helped my cycling.
I am smoking my buddies on the climbs.
Well between the work outs, the info gained on this forum and my new Cervelo, I am pretty inspired and having a lot of fun. Well I think I will go soak in the tub for a while. :)

·
Folsom City Blues...
3,890 Posts
Great, keep up the good work. It pays you back to two fold in the long run. I'm just a bit older then you are and I enjoy gitting out and riding for fun and health.

Peace

·
Registered
3,238 Posts
Keep after it, it just keeps getting better. You'll feel so good when you get that first century.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Very nice man. I just did my first century this weekend and it is a great feeling. I was a competitive swimmer and runner so I took up biking to start doing tri's.

Congrats and keep up the good work.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Great stuff! I got back into road biking a few years ago, at about your age, and so far I have been able to maintain my fitness year to year.