Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Newbie here. Been riding bikes all my life but just recently got my first single-speed road bike and decided to join here.

The bike is nothing fancy but I really dig it. 2008 SE Lager all stock except Brooks B17 black leather saddle, MKS Touring pedals (no big deal, just happen to like the look/feel), and Continental Ultra Gatorskin 700x28's. Oh, and a tail-light and a small bell.

Here's the bike-
http://www.sebikes.com/2008/bike-detail.asp?id=46

I've been using the Brooks saddle for a couple years now and love it. I put the MKS Touring pedals on because that's what I had on my last bike, and I don't like the feel of the toe-straps/pedals that came with the Lager. Also, I use the bike as my primary mode of transportation here in Chicago so I went with the Ultra Gatorskins to prevent/minimize the inevitable flats from the city roads/debris, and the bell and tail-light are nice when dealing with big-city traffic/pedestrians.

Anyhow, nice to be here and hope to provide some helpful info in the future. I'll try and keep the newbie comments/questions to a minimum and search for answers before just lazily throwing a new post up.

Peace, love, and cycling.

·
Frog Whisperer
41,515 Posts
yeah...we are witty...oh so witty.....witty and pretty and cooooooooooool..........

lord.....don't hit the send button...NO....NO...stop....

too late

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I really love riding this Lager. It's much more fun than my previous bike. I had a 2007 Raleigh Passage 3.5 Hybrid with 700x40 tires. Great entry level hybrid, lightweight with decent components for the $$$, but 700x40 was huge. I didn't realize until I rode the 700x28's that my new Lager came with. I don't think I want to go much smaller for my purposes, but it's great to have lighter/faster tires. I'm 6'4" and only 160 lbs, fyi, so I think these smaller tires suit me.