Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
College Student Commuter
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the world of cycling. So I just graduated from high school and started having an interest in cycling. I have biked before, but not much. I used to bike to school using a walmart bike(lol). So I don't really know squat about road bikes. I've researched for a couple of days already, but I still don't know a lot of the stuff, like geometry. Anyways, I was looking around and there were a couple road bikes that interested me; the Felt F95, Z100, and Z85.
I will probably cycle 20 miles a day or something during the summer. When I move out to college (Cal Poly SLO), I'm gonna use it as my transportation to and from classes. I will also use it for fitness means over the weekend.

So I just had a grad Party and I got some money from my relatives, and I'm planning on putting it and my money towards a road bike, My budget is $1000 for everything including the things I need to get started(helmet, pedals, shorts, shirt). I'm buying my bike at Sports Basement, so brands available are (Fuji, Felt, Jamis, Cannondale).

I will try to get fitted and test drive on monday or so.

Thanks for reading!

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
Welcome to RBR. :)

You're looking at all good brands, and your budget will get you a pretty nice bike. Fit is very important, so work with the folks at Sports Basement, go out on the roads for test rides and pay attention to how all the bikes fit and feel. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the experience in the process! :thumbsup:

·
College Student Commuter
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the kind welcome :)

One question, If I get the F95, should I get the team or the orange colored one? You think the normal orange color will be an eye catcher for thieves? I will keep the bike in my apartment dorm if I have to at night to prevent it from getting stolen.

·
Registered
2,651 Posts