Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a bike from Nashbar using a 20% off code. I'm just getting into doing my own maintenance and thought this would be a good opportunity to learn while I assemble it. The bike came with a 12-25 (10 speed) cassette and compact crank. The rear derailleur is a 105 which from what I've read should accept up to 30t. Our area is pretty hilly so I ordered a 12-30 and put it on. I also got a new chain and measured it using the "two biggest rings" method. OK. New chain and cassette are on. Feeling good. Now I think I have to check my limiter screws. That's where the good times end. When I'm in the big ring in the front, I can't shift to the two biggest gears in the back. If I'm in the biggest in the rear and small up front, shifting the big front ring causes the chain to get stuck half on the ring and everything seizes up. Can't turn the crank. I know cross chaining is frowned upon (but maybe less so with a double?), but this can't be normal. So where did I go wrong? Chain too short? Misread the 105's capacity? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,457 Posts
NOt all 105's accept a 30T. the 5700-A is a 30T RD.

the standard 5700 accepts 28T max.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
'zackly. Whatever method you used to size the chain, you did it wrong. You're lucky you didn't force it when trying to shift to the big ring, or you'd break your derailleur.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies. How do I determine the rear derailleur capacity with certainty? The spec list for the bike just says 5700, but on the derailleur is printed RD-5701. And does anyone have a sure-fire method of measuring a chain?

·
Premium Member
5,457 Posts