Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Evening, first of all -

Where to start - I'm new to cycling as a participant, but not new to the sport, as I try and follow as many races (mostly local, but of course everyone watches the Tour) as I can. I'm very well versed in weight-training knowledge and general cardio/calisthenic exercises (my drill instructor saw to that), but when it comes to road biking, I'm a newbie. I want to get into road cycling as a hobby and sport, as I dont think there is much that is more challenging, fun, or physically demanding.

Unfortunately I'm having a problem figuring out where to "start." I am interested in entry-level equipment, but nothing that is garbage. I need to know what factors go into choosing a bike, general startup costs, etc. I don't like going off half-cocked into something, because thats a good way to waste money, time, and get injured. My main goals for cycling are to find a good compliment to a weight training regiment and one that can very much catch my lower legs up to the rest of my body (I'm one of those individuals that has the unfortunate "little calves" syndrome. Sigh.).

Anyway - I'm looking for good, cost-friendly brands of bikes (I understand that is a relative statement), how to make my equipment last, and a general figure of a "startup cost." Also - is it cheaper/better to buy components and put together a bike rather than buy one complete? (The idea of a "pain in the butt" doesn't bother me, I'm going to have some time on my hands waiting for my flight school slot and I love putting things together). Just some basic questions from a newbie.

If anyone has any for me, or if I failed in some way to properly address my first post - a thousand apologies. Let me know and I'll correct, post-haste.

Good talking, Happy Biking.
-R.

·
Registered
906 Posts