Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
1,469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
greetings

I am new at this, apologies. I just ordered my first replacement set of tyres from internet (700*23C folding) which are due to arrive soon. I know how to replace a tube (too many flats!) but I have never replaced a tyre.

These are new Michelin Carbon Krylion(?) folding tyres that I bought. Are there any tips or techniques for replacing 700*23C folding tyres? Do I need to replace the rim tape too? Wheels are Bontrager Race-X-Lite on 2005 Madone 5.9. Do I need any kind of powder to spray inside the tyre first? Any special tools or just tyre levers? Anything else?

Thanks

· Registered
8,116 Posts
You might need levers- particularly for new tires. Open tubulars usually recommend against them, but your should be fine with Michelins. If you can change a tube, you can change a tire. I recommend inspecting the rim tape, wiping out the inside of the rim- but you should not need new tape. You should not need any powder, either.

If you are relatively new to this, be careful not to pinch the tube between the tire and the bead.

I recommend lining up the labels with the valve stem- and on fancy tires with the label on only one side, make sure it is drive side--- else the style police will arrest you.

acid_rider said:
greetings

I am new at this, apologies. I just ordered my first replacement set of tyres from internet (700*23C folding) which are due to arrive soon. I know how to replace a tube (too many flats!) but I have never replaced a tyre.

These are new Michelin Carbon Krylion(?) folding tyres that I bought. Are there any tips or techniques for replacing 700*23C folding tyres? Do I need to replace the rim tape too? Wheels are Bontrager Race-X-Lite on 2005 Madone 5.9. Do I need any kind of powder to spray inside the tyre first? Any special tools or just tyre levers? Anything else?

Thanks

· Registered
21,832 Posts
Talc