Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen, ladies, excellent to be here.

I have been a MTB guy for a long time, got out of it for shoulder injury reasons, picked up a new MTB early this spring, and fell back in love with biking. I started riding to work, and was just fine and happy till the other morning i looked up after hearing a 'whiiiizzzzzzzz' blow by me and seeing a roadie smoking me like it was cool. Anyhow, i work with a bunch of road guys, and one of them is lending me a 1980 C'dale.

I road it in for the first time and shaved 8 - 9 minutes off of my usual 38-41 minute commute. Excellent!! I am now in the mood for a good road bike, and i would like to know who likes what LBS, and why. I am not afraid to spend a little more if i like the people in the shop. Don't hit me with the 'why not go where you bought your MTB', because it was at one of the Bicycle Village sales in aurora. I wasn't too pleased when i went back. I have one MTB friend that frequents Green Mountain Cycles, and i stopped into a smaller local place in Applewood, I can't remember the name, but they seemed nice.

Anyhow, I want to ride the old C'dale for a while, about a month or two and really look into a new bike, perhaps even used. Just for grins i am 6'2" and 234 lbs (today, down from 257 on April 1). Needless to say i like heavy duty bikes! :) Anyhow, let me know what you think, I am excited to meet some new people, perhaps go on a few rides.

Have a great day!

-Sorantos

· It's not TOO Cold!
2,497 Posts
Iv'e had really good luck with Arvada Bike Shop, on Wadsworth at 66th. I bought a C'Dale CycloX there this spring. Knowledgable, personable, and competitive prices.

· Registered
899 Posts
sorantos said:
i would like to know who likes what LBS, and why.

-Sorantos