Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ive been riding for a few years on xc and i am pretty new to road biking.

i do not live in the US and i am going to be travelling to the states (ft collins CO) in July to visit my brother and im saving some money $1000-1300 ish to purchase a road bike.

bikes here are quite expensive and its really hard to find one on local stores.

i have my scope on a trek 2.1 and ive been looking as well to similar bikes like the scott s30.

i guess i could go higher for a bike with 105 groupset so im open to other options and suggestions.
i am not familiar at ALL with the actual prices that i could find at the LBS in the states.

btw, i need a road shoes and a helmet!

any input is appreciated

·
still shedding season
8,849 Posts
I have an '08 2.1 and it's been very good for me. I got into (or really back into, I guess) riding last year so take my comments for what they're worth. I haven't had a problem with the drivetrain, although it is a bit of a "mutt" - 105 RD, SRAM cassette and chain, Bontrager crank (now something else). It doesn't shift bad at all but not as smooth as my other bike which is all 105. I don't see a reason to upgrade it, FWIW.

At my LBS, a new one will be right in the middle of your budget but then add sales tax to that amount (could be up to 10%, probably less). You'll probably also want to change the pedals since they're really flimsy toeclips.

·
Banned
2,088 Posts
If you can catch a "deal", look at the 2.3 which is pretty much all 105.
Real world price for a 2.3?
About $1,500. range, but it will need virtually no upgrading for a long time.

As for a helmet? Any $40. ASTM helmet will be good enough.

Shoes? Personal matter...which ever pair fit (buy them 1/2 size bigger) both you and your budget.