Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, wise bikers.

I'm new to real riding, in general -- for the past two years I've just used my bike for errands around the neighborhood. This past spring I started working up to longer distances (6... 8... 10 miles...) and now I'm determined to do my commute (about 16-18 miles each way, depending on the route) at least one way, then round-trip. I'm at the point where I can do 12 miles roundtrip pretty comfortably, on a crap bike, so I'm almost there.

But I need better wheels. I have a decrepit 20-year-old Trek MTB that's making awful noises, despite a tuneup; I was going to just put slicks on it and keep riding but the front brakes are cracking, the chain is rusted, the gear shifts are unreliable, shock absorbency is nil and even though I'm on a budget I don't want to sink more money into what is clearly the wrong bike.

So far I've test-ridden:

Schwinn Sport Tour (LLBean branded, about $449, felt rinkydink)
Giant Defy 3 ($700ish but on sale at a local bike shop for $640, felt a bit too advanced for me, if that makes sense)
Specialized Vita and Sirrus (oddly, I preferred the Sirrus to the Vita even though I'm a lady and both were the right size. And it seemed to be a sweet spot between my mountain bike and a fancier road bike.)

Here's what I know:

I like flat bars. Aside from the familiarity factor, it's easier for me to reach gears/brakes that way. I have ridiculously small hands, and they make me feel steadier.
Pedals confuse me. The baskety things seem awkward and I don't have shoes with clips. I guess I can always buy different pedals for whatever I get.
I won't be racing, ever. Biking is what I do to not be aggro.
I will occasionally be wearing a backpack or otherwise transporting a day's worth of clothes and lunch to work.